The Filson Historical Society Digital Projects

Browse Items (2 total)

  • https://filsonhistorical.org/wp-content/uploads/Davis_House_Middletown_web.jpg

    The Davis House, more commonly known today as Davis Tavern, was built by William White, the surveyor of Middletown, in eastern Jefferson County. By 1820 the home was purchased by Abraham Ramsey who modified the house into a tavern. In 1841 Susan B. Davis purchased the home and later passed the home to her daughter Susannah Brown, whose husband, Abell Brown, was granted a tavern license. Hattie Brown and her husband, Dr. Luther Paris Wetherby, inherited the tavern, and eventually converted the tavern into apartments. The structure still stands today, and is now used as the Middletown city hall.
  • https://filsonhistorical.org/wp-content/uploads/Moremen_Villa_Louisville_web.jpg

    Built in 1837 by Gabriel Farnsley (1800-1849), Moremen's Villa, now known as Riverside, The Farnsley-Moremen Landing is one of the last remaining nineteenth-century houses in southwestern Jefferson County. The house stands at the center of more than 300-acre landmark property on the banks of the Ohio River.
Output Formats

atom, dcmes-xml, json, omeka-xml, rss2